A lot of basketballs went through a lot of hoops this week.

Russell Westbrook

He now had 25 triple doubles on the season. Averages are below:

capture

LeBron vs. Barkley

LeBron publicly asked for more play makers on his team last week. Charles Barkley didn’t like these and called LeBron whiny and questioned if LeBron really wanted to compete. After losing to the Mavericks LeBron shot back at Barkley in a vicious way. Below is what he said:

“I’m not going to let him disrespect my legacy like that. I’m not the one who threw somebody through a window. I never spit on a kid. I never had unpaid debt in Las Vegas. I never said, ‘I’m not a role model.’ I never showed up to All-Star Weekend on Sunday because I was in Vegas all weekend partying.

“All I’ve done for my entire career is represent the NBA the right way. Fourteen years, never got in trouble. Respected the game. Print that.”

“He’s a hater. What makes what he says credible? Because he’s on TV? I know he wanted to retire a long time ago, but he can’t. He’s stuck up on that stage every week.”

“If this makes him want to talk to me, the schedule’s out there. He knows every road arena I’ll be in. Don’t just come up to me at All-Star and shake my hand and smile.”

Shots fired. It’s interesting how prepared LeBron was to fire back at Barkley, doing his research and having facts at the ready. LeBron is reaching his mid-thirties and is at the point of his career where he takes always the filter when talking to the media. Kobe changed the way he talked to the media towards the end of his career and it looks like LeBron is following the same trajectory. In addition to destroying Barkley, LeBron became the youngest player ever to reach 28,000 points.

Gregg Popovich

Pop passed Jerry Sloan for most wins as a head coach for one team. Pop won his 1,128th game with the Spurs last week.

Heat are Hot

The Miami Heat are still winning. At the time of this post, they have won 12 in a row. They are now one of the few teams to have a double digit winning streak this season but are still significantly below a .500 overall record. Is this a fun winning streak to put the Heat back in the playoff hunt or is it a fluke and is dramatically hurting their lottery chances in this year’s deep NBA draft?

Yao Ming

I miss watching Yao play in the NBA. His career was cut short due to feet injuries and it seemed like just as he was becoming the best center in the NBA, he was forced to retire. Despite having a short career, he made a huge impact and still receives millions of votes for the all-star game from his Chinese fans. The Rockets retired his jersey last week, pretty cool.

Rick Carlisle

The Mavericks are awful this year. They beat the struggling Cavs and after the game coach Carlisle told the media, “we’re a shit team but we’re an underrated shit team.” Not sure about the accuracy of that statement as I haven’t watched a Mavs game in years but I appreciate the honesty.

Other Stuff

Isaiah Thomas is still playing like an all timer in the 4th quarter, Zach Lavine tore his ACL, Paul Pierce played his last game in Boston, Whiteside has a 30 point 20 rebound game, Tim Hardaway Jr. had the best game of his career (33 points), and the Melo to the Cavs trade rumors are still alive and well.

Scores:

capture2

capture3

capture4

capture5

capture6

capture7

capture8

